Skip to content

CAVES (Guest Article)

April 7, 2016

“I sought the LORD, and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.” (Psalm 34:4)

CAVES

David sat alone in the cave of Adullam.  Life had crashed in on him.  Answers eluded him.  Help melted away.  His last hope—among his enemies—had failed.  In the cave he poured out his soul to God:  “For there is no one who acknowledges me;/ Refuge has failed me;/ No one cares for my soul.” (Ps. 142:4)

God hadn’t forgotten David.  Not for a minute.  He was about to work into David’s life the means of the fulfillment of the prophecies.  But David didn’t know that.  For all he knew life had just turned against him forever.  Just like for you and me, David couldn’t see the future.

What do you do when you’re sitting in a dark and lonely place with no prospects and fearing the worst that can happen?Here’s what David did:  “I will cry out to God Most High,/ To God who performs all things for me./  He shall send from heaven and save me;/ He reproaches the one who would swallow me up./  God shall send forth His mercy and His truth.” (Ps. 57:2f.)

God had brought David as low as he could go.  What could he do now?  David did the right thing.  He looked up.  God hadn’t forgotten David.  Life had just changed, and those parts of it he had called blessings were falling away.  God was weaving a whole new set of circumstances to build into His servant all that he needed to become the Great King.  David remembered God. Caves can be hard places to sit.  Maybe you’re sitting in one right now.  You’re not sure why God has you there.  Maybe you  feel hurt, alone, and helpless.  You can’t see beyond the problems that put you there.  Maybe feeling like David?  You can curse the cave.  Or you can do like David did.  God is just as alive today as He was then.  He loves you just as much as He did David.  He may not be planning to make you king or readying four hundred companions to immediately join you as He was for David.  But He does have plans for you.  He hasn’t forgotten you.  He will hear you when you call on Him.  Be like David.  Look up!

Larry A. Shelley

One Comment
  1. Larry permalink

    Thanks for using this. I’m glad you appreciated it. I actually wrote it about 10 years ago from a cave.–LS

Leave a Reply

