Skip to content

SOMEBODY NEEDS ME

May 14, 2015

Text: “But if anyone has the world’s goods and sees his brother in need,  yet closes his heart against him, how does God’s love abide in him?” I John 3:17

Most every day we see in the world about us the needs of the hungry, the hurting, and the dispossessed. For instance, we see the TV abundantly display the refugee needing help, those who are hungry because of drought, animals that have been abused, those who have lost everything in some natural disaster, etc. Is your heart touched about such things? There are such distresses close enough to you to demand mercy and assistance from you.

George Gershwin, Ballard MacDonald and Buddy DeSylva collaborated to publish in 1924 a love song  entitled “Somebody Loves Me”.  The song plaintively inquires,  “Somebody loves me, I wonder who,  I wonder who it could be?”  For our purposes I would like to change but one word to make the query read, “Somebody needs me, I wonder who?” There is a world of people out there who need you!  Jeremiah begs for a healing agent to be applied to Israel’s affliction: “Is there no balm in Gilead, is there no physician there? Why then has the health of the daughter of my people not been restored?” Jeremiah  8:22  It won’t take much time to find someone who needs help. Just walk down the street. You don’t have the skills for the task? God wants you to ask for them, and he will equip you for those tasks. “…from whom the whole body, joined and held together by every joint with which it is equipped, when each part is working properly, makes the body grow so that it builds itself up in love.” Ephesians 4:16 But…do not pray for tasks equal to your powers; pray for power equal to your tasks.

Some steps you might (or must) take to find and assist those you can help are below.

Do not flee what you see. You will find many drastic cases out there that at first repel you. Overcome your horror and fears. Jump right in and get your hands dirty with whatever it takes.

Find somebody who needs you.  Become a hero by getting busy fast. Be kind. Don’t show any fear or disgust- demonstrate love.

Find someone whom you need. Right away let someone get into your life. Give them attention. Establish a bond of goodness and friendliness with him/her. Go back whenever you get a chance and take your smile with you. Do this again and again.  You will like it!

Be merciful and kind.  You can learn these two behaviors and then validate them by doing good to others. Hurting people need to see these behaviors in you. Be sure you are learning them from Jesus. He it was who said, “Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.” Matthew 5:7 

Remember: you have a lot to share  with the needy. So, share it! God has given you many blessings. In fact , you probably have more than enough for yourself. So, don’t let your own selfishness get in the way of  giving some of your bounty to relieve the poverty, pain, sorrow, hunger or nakedness of another person. Stop thinking of yourself  and open your heart to the insufficiencies, disabilities,  and wounds of people who need you.

Remember that Jesus warned his disciples by insisting,  Truly. I say to you, as you did it to the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.”  Matthew 25:45

One more suggestion. When you have done good to someone, go home and sit in your favorite chair and savor how good you feel inside.

 

REM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment
  1. Larry Shelley permalink

    I’ll have to say that this one is very convicting.  Thank you for it. Sorry I’ve been delayed in reading.  I just got back early Sunday morning from a trip to Anguilla, an island in the British West Indies.  My older son married in November in a civil ceremony in WV.  This was a trip for me to meet the bride and her parents.  And we had a short, informal (required of me) ceremony on the beach with a bonfire burning.  My daughter and her fiance and may younger son and his girlfriend were there.  I couldn’t have made it without the latter two.  I’m not a traveler and could not have made the arrangements he did.  He had a chair waiting for me in Atlanta.  I can walk across the hall, but not down 2 miles of it.  That is one huge building.  My 3 and Eric’s girlfriend did scuba diving 4 days and all did snorkeling.  I did not.  After 2 days I was ready to come home.  I did walk along the beach.  It seems the water and the sand have a cushioning effect so that my knee didn’t hurt–much.  I did need the rest for my eyes.  They have become very tired the last few months. I’m impressed with your writing.  You write of many different aspects of religious life.  And you use current stuff from popular life.  I think that’s what Jesus did.  It makes your writings real. Thanks for sending them.I keep you in prayer always. Larry

Leave a Reply

