Skip to content

DOES THIS SOUND FAMILIAR?

August 28, 2013

Text:  “There is no soundness in my flesh because of your indignation; there is no health in my bones because of my sin. For my iniquities have gone over my head; like a heavy burden, they are too heavy for me.” Psalms 38:3-4

When God sought a man to replace King Saul he sought “a man after his (God’s) own heart”. I Samuel 13:14 Already a military hero and favorite of the people, David manifested the characteristics to be a king. However, David, like all humans, was bedeviled by sin.  He yielded to the flesh and committed adultery with Bathsheba. This act produced a child, and to cover this sin David had her husband stranded in battle and he was killed. Still, David had one of the tenderest hearts of all men. Read the first two books of the Psalms (1-72) and you will see how sensitive to his sins and dependent upon God he was.

We have already mentioned the heart  The heart possesses  the power to reason. (Luke 5:22)  The heart can recognize when one sins and be sorrowful. (Acts 2:37) This was certainly the kind of heart that David possessed.  Keep your heart pure. ( I Timothy 1:5) With the proper schooling and exercise on the part of a Christian, it can create a wisdom that helps thwart sin. So, maintain a tender and contrite heart, Christian.

Now think for a moment of the conscience. Part of the job of the conscience is to bear witness to one’s soul and to convict of sin. (Romans 2:15)  It can  be weak (I Corinthians 8:12) or it can be pure (I Timothy 1:19), according to the way you educate and maintain it. (Acts 24:16) Keep your conscience sensitive and pure.

Perhaps David’s experiences with sin are familiar to you.  They are common experiences when you mourn over your sins. The second beatitude points us to the importance of dealing with our sins. “Blessed are those who mourn. for they shall be comforted.” Mathew 5:4  David tells of the sorrows of a night spent with some of his sins. “I am weary with my mourning; every night I flood my bed with tears; I drench my couch with my weeping.” The apostle Paul admits such experiences: “Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?” Romans 7:24

There is one who can erase your pain. He died for you and forgave your sins. He reconciled you to God.  He said, “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.”  Matthew 11:2

If these nightmares of guilt plague you, you might be playing into the Devil’s scheme. If he enmeshes you in this entrapment perhaps he can get you into deeper trouble. You could be so disturbed about prior sins he can get you to abandon your present involvement with Jesus. Or, he could weaken your faith by convincing you that you are unworthy to be forgiven. But, examine this satanic ploy and consider: this is actually not an accusation against you: it is a devaluation of the atonement Jesus bought with his blood. The author of Hebrews wrote: “And by that will we have been sanctified through the offering of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.” Hebrews 10:1

“As far as the east is from the west, so far does he remove our transgressions from us.” Psalms 103:12

Put this into practice. If God forgives your sins, you can forget them! 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

